Some Thoughts on Leaving Bloomberg…For Now

I’ve learned two things while I’ve been the 2018 news intern at Bloomberg Sydney. One – you don’t realise the value of your moments until they are a memory. Two – without the good fortune of being sighted to begin with, it doesn’t matter what work you put in – you still won’t get seen.

Luckily, I’ve had both fall my way – and fall through big time.

From reporting on Seek’s earnings results to meeting Jean-Sebastian Jacques, the CEO of Rio Tinto to live blogging the RBA Governor’s testimony in Canberra, this job has given me more than I could have ever asked for. I’ve co-written one of the top politics articles on Bloomberg Asia and I’ve interviewed the head of equities at one of the world’s wealthiest asset management firms.. Not many 20 year olds can say they’ve done that.

To my Sydney family, thank you for making me feel so welcome. Over the last ten weeks, you guys have made me feel like I can do this for a living and more importantly, HAVE FUN while doing it. Thank you guys, I hope you’ve enjoyed having me as much as I loved being there. Special shoutout to Ruth Carson who’s off to Singapore to continue killin’ it in her reporting beat of currencies – thank you for being the best of mentors and the greatest of friends.

To Tom Contiliano, Bruce Grant and all the managing editors, thanks for placing your trust in me to write good news and hard news. Thanks for the opportunity to make sure I can give 110% to everything – I can only hope I did you justice. This isn’t over – and I have a hunch we will run into each other again in the near future.

And finally, to Ed Johnson – the man who hired me for this gig. It’s because of you that I’ve been able to say I made it. I always wanted to be a writer. Having been brought up on a dinner table topic diet of politics, business and history, this job has not just been a job – it’s a culmination of what I’ve wanted to do since forever. Amusingly, when I started, he posted this tweet:

I can only hope I did you great things, Ed.

There’ll be some new and exciting things soon in this space. I hope you’ll stick with me for the ride. But for now, I’m just proud to say that I was part of the team that brought (and will continue to bring) you:

Global news, 24 hours a day, on air and at TicToc on Twitter, powered by more than 2,700 journalists and analysts in more than 120 countries.
I’m Hans Lee – and that was Bloomberg.

One thought on “Some Thoughts on Leaving Bloomberg…For Now

  1. Hans, without any doubt, Ed is proud of your performance during this short Bloomberg internship. And, the whole FamiLEE cannot wait for see what next your adventure will be. Excellent job, Hans. Proud of you.

    Like

Leave a comment